Skip to content

2015 Conference participants

Speakers, moderators and panellists for Rebooting Canada’s Communications Legislation include (in alphabetical order):

Bram Abramson, Chief Legal & Regulatory Officer, Teksavvy
Dr. Caroline Andrew, Director, Centre on Governance at University of Ottawa
Lewis Auerbach, Auerbach Consulting Services; formerly Director, Office of the Auditor General; CRTC Advisor; Ideas Producer, CBC Radio
Doug Barrett, BellMedia Professor, Schulich School of Business, York University, formerly Chair, Canadian Television Fund (2004 to 2008)
Nathalie Blais, conseillère au service de la recherche, Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique
Dr. Genevieve Bonin, Department of Communication, University of Ottawa
Dr. Mark Bourrie, Department of History, Carleton University
Andrew Cardozo, Pearson Centre for Progessive Policy, formerly Commissioner, CRTC (1997 to 2003)
Dr. Larry Chartrand, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
David Colville, DC Communications Consulting, formerly Vice-Chair, Telecommunications, CRTC (1995 to 1999), and acting Chair, CRTC (1990 to 1994 and 2001 to 2002)
Dr. Arthur Cordell, Communication Studies, School of Journalism and Communication, Carleton University
Tim Denton, The Windermere Group, formerly Commissioner, CRTC (2008 to 2013)
Dr. David Dubinski, Centre on Governance, University of Ottawa
Dr. David Ellis, Department of Communication Studies, York University
Kirsten Embree, Partner, Dentons Canada LLP
Sean FitzPatrick, Cavalluzzo Shilton McIntyre and Cornish Law
Tamir Israel, Legal Counsel, Canadian Internet Policy and Public Interest Clinic
Dr. Michael Geist, Faculty of Law, University of Ottawa
Peter Grant, Counsel, McCarthy Tétrault
John Keogh, formerly Senior General Counsel, CRTC
Barry Kiefl, Canadian Media Research Inc.
Benjamin Klass, graduate student, University of Manitoba
Danielle Lamy, legal counsel, Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique
Howard Law, Director, Media Sector, Unifor
John Lawford, Executive Director and General Counsel, PIAC
Jeff Leiper, Councillor, City of Ottawa,
Ann Mainville-Neeson, Vice President, Broadcast Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Telus
Dr. John Meisel, Sir Edward Peacock Professor of Political Science Emeritus, formerly Chairman, CRTC (1980 to 1983)
Dr. Catherine Middleton, Ted Rogers School of Management, Ryerson
Dr. Daniel Paré, Department of Communication, University of Ottawa
Alain Pineau, Special Advisor to the Hon. Stéphane Dion, Cultural Policies at Liberal Party of Canada
Professor Liora Salter, FRSC, York University & Osgoode Hall Law School
Sheridan Scott, former Commissioner of Competition, Competition Bureau of Canada
John H. Stevenson, University of Toronto
Christian Tacit, Tacit Law
Dr. Gregory Taylor, Canadian Spectrum Policy Resesarch, Ryerson
Jay Thomson, Vice-President Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs, Canadian Media Production Association
Dr. Samuel E. Trosow, Faculty of Law, and Faculty of Information and Media Studies, University of Western Ontario
Jeanne d’Arc Umurungi, Communications Director, CMG
Geoffrey White, Public Interest Advocacy Centre
Kealy Wilkinson, Executive Director, Canadian Broadcast Museum Foundation, and
Dr. Dwayne Winseck, School of Journalism and Institute of Political Economy, Carleton University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *